Tailgating or following too closely is one of the most common causes of traffic accidents because it can lead to tail-end collisions. This type of ticket usually occurs when a driver follows too closely behind another vehicle, causing one of them to lose control over their steering wheels at very high speeds resulting in an accident with either side crashing into each other or some nearby objects like trees on the side roads.
The law states that you should never tailgate someone else on the road, and New York is one of the states that have harsh regulations against it. Section 1129(a) of Vehicle And Traffic Law says this: “A vehicle shall not follow another more closely than is reasonable and prudent having due regard for the speed of such vehicles and the traffic upon and the condition of the highway.”, which means you can’t get too close when driving behind somebody’s car, motorbike or behind cyclists.
Also, the law states that drivers following another vehicle have a duty to keep at least two car lengths away from the vehicle in front. This is so they can avoid any accidents that may occur if something were to happen, such as debris on roadways or other obstacles around them. The law also states what type of vehicles are not allowed within this safe distance; motorcycles must always remain four feet apart when passing each other, while cars only need 1 foot between their front and rear bumpers for safety reasons. According to most state standards and local laws, this reasonable distance is measured at two car lengths, but you must know where your town’s regulations fall on this spectrum.
How much does a following too closely ticket cost?
Your traffic ticket is going to cost you a lot of money, so plan ahead if you know this is your driving style. The average first offense for following too closely can be anywhere between $90 and $350 depending on where in the country you get fined and your driving record (and if it’s just one or two citations). If there are more than three violations within five years, expect costs to range from $95 to more than $550.
However, we found a thread on Reddit.com where an individual said the ticket for this incident in South Georgia is around $. At the same time, another person claims they had to pay $260 when they received a ticket near their home in Fulton County.
According to a member of the Avvo.com forum, the cost of a following closely ticket was $125.
Fairfax County has a strict vehicle code that mandates that it will cost you $95 for the basic fine when following another car too closely. $65 of that sum will be the processing fee.
The total fine in Clay County, Missouri, is $100.
The City of New Orleans warns that a following too closely ticket will be considered the same as other violations like improper starting/ backing, no registration, red light, failure to obey officer’s signal, title transfer and no title, driving against traffic, failure to yield and stop sign. Drivers can expect to pay $215 for each violation.
What are the extra costs?
In addition to paying a fine for traffic violations, you will have court surcharges and other fees imposed upon your case.
Ticket prices will skyrocket if you get multiple traffic violation tickets in a short period. Even though each ticket is given for an individual offense, the total cost can add up quickly and may result in points on your driving record or even jail time.
In New Orleans, State Statute violations cost an extra $20. This is because they’re in violation of state law.
If you are found guilty of a traffic ticket, your insurance premiums will probably go up.
Hiring a traffic violation lawyer can be expensive, but it is your best bet to keep points off the record and avoid hefty fines. While most lawyers charge between $220 and $550 for their services, with some charging as much as $1,000, they will work with courts in order to ensure that you receive fewer citations than what is considered standard from law enforcement agencies across America.
Important things to consider
A driver can face severe consequences if convicted of reckless driving. They may even be sent to jail, pay fines and get points on their license that will affect them for years. Depending on the state, this type of violation would be one or two points on a driving record.
When driving, always try to stay at least one car length behind the vehicle in front. There are cases when you cannot do this for some reason, such as road construction or heavier traffic.
If the traffic citation was not filed within five business days, you could be entitled to dismiss charges. You will want a lawyer that specializes in these types of cases because they know how to make arguments and find loopholes in affidavits based on hearsay evidence or lack thereof.
If you have a clean driving record and the officer’s procedures were not followed correctly, then your charge may be dismissed.
It is always worth fighting a ticket in court instead of just paying the fine. When you go before a judge and explain what happened, many good things may occur. It is possible that the officer not be present at the court hearing, which means your punishment for this infraction will be canceled out completely. If you want no points on your record, you can just admit the fault and pay the full amount for the ticket. In this situation, your insurance company will also not increase your premiums.
How can I save money?
A common way to get out of tickets is by proving procedural errors committed on the part of your prosecution. For example, if they gave you a citation that was too vague or incorrectly worded, then it’s possible to have it dismissed through these various loopholes in their accusatory process. ExpertLaw.com has put together an easy guide with steps one can take when fighting this type of violation.
- How Much Does a Wheaten Terrier Cost? - November 27, 2023
- How Much Does a Rumson Country Club Membership Cost? - November 27, 2023
- How Much Does It Cost To Return A Uhaul At A Different Location? - November 27, 2023