How Much Does an Army Navy Country Club Membership Cost?
Updated on | Written by Alec Pow
This article was researched using 9 sources. See our methodology and corrections policy.
Army Navy Country Club does not publish a current 2026 initiation-fee or dues schedule. Its current rules do confirm one unusually valuable exception: a qualifying first-time commissioned officer serving on active duty in the lowest rank of the service can join with $0 initiation fee if the club’s timing, service-commitment, and documentation requirements are met.
For everyone else, current initiation fees and dues must be requested from ANCC. Historical public evidence shows how wide the structure has been: club-supplied 2021 data ranged from $1,200 for an O-1 to $24,900 for an O-10, while enlisted and NCO applicants were quoted $77,700.
Civilian pricing has also reached the same broad territory. A 2017 report said Barack Obama paid about $75,000 to join as a civilian. None of those older figures should be relabeled as a current 2026 rate. The useful answer today is that ANCC prices membership by eligibility category, keeps most current pricing private, and still recognizes initiation, dues, and a separate capital-infusion charge in its membership structure.
Army Navy Country Club operates two Virginia campuses in Arlington and Fairfax. The club combines 54 holes of golf with racquet sports, pools, fitness, dining, and social facilities, so a membership quote is not comparable with a public-course annual pass. Military status, residency status, age, and eligibility route can affect what a prospective member is offered.
Article Highlights
Jump to sections
- ANCC does not publish its current 2026 initiation fees or dues online.
- Qualifying newly commissioned active-duty officers can currently enter with $0 initiation fee under the club’s published rules.
- Historical club-supplied 2021 initiation fees ran from $1,200 (at $30 per hour, earning that amount would take about 1 full-time workweek, before taxes) for an O-1 to $24,900 for an O-10.
- The same 2021 material quoted enlisted and NCO applicants $77,700, payable in 12 quarterly installments of $6,475.
- A civilian membership was reported at about $75,000 in 2017.
- ANCC’s current public membership material still identifies Capital Infusion as a charge separate from dues.
- The club’s fiscal 2025 Form 990 reported $9,719,591 in the combined “Initiation Fees & Contributions” category.

How Much Does an Army Navy Country Club Membership Cost?
| Membership cost signal | Published amount | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Qualifying first-time commissioned officer | $0 initiation fee | Current official eligibility rule |
| Active-duty O-1 initiation | $1,200 (about 1 full-time workweek at $30 per hour) | Historical 2021 club-supplied fee information |
| Active-duty O-2 initiation | $2,300 | Historical 2021 club-supplied fee information |
| Active-duty O-10 initiation | $24,900 | Historical 2021 club-supplied fee information |
| Enlisted/NCO initiation | $77,700 | Historical 2021 club-supplied fee information |
| Reported civilian initiation | $75,000 | Historical 2017 reported price |
| Current dues | Not publicly disclosed | Request from ANCC Membership Office |
| Current Capital Infusion | Amount not publicly disclosed | Separate charge confirmed in current club material |
The strongest current pricing fact comes from the current newly commissioned rule. It says a first-time commissioned officer on active duty in the lowest rank of the service may be elected without paying an initiation fee when the applicant has at least a two-year active-duty commitment, applies within one year of commissioning, and supplies the required documents and dues.
The older military figures come from a 2021 club-supplied fee sheet obtained by Task & Purpose from ANCC’s membership coordinator. That makes the figures useful historical evidence, but it does not make them a 2026 rate card.
What You’re Actually Buying
Army Navy Country Club is a private, member-owned country club with campuses in Arlington and Fairfax, Virginia. Membership can provide access to golf, racquet sports, aquatics, fitness, dining, social programs, and club facilities subject to the member’s category and club rules. It is not a military installation benefit, a public golf subscription, or a single-course membership.
The club’s current facilities summary lists more than 500 combined acres, 54 championship golf holes, 29 tennis courts including six indoors, dedicated pickleball facilities, five swimming pools, and fitness and dining facilities across the two campuses. A course-history account also traces the Fairfax property to the former Fairfax Country Club and Robert Trent Jones design work.
ANCC’s history is tied to military officers in the Washington area, but civilian membership exists as well. The club’s centennial history archive documents the institution’s membership and dues history across its first century. Current eligibility rules, however, are more useful than old customs when deciding what category applies today.

Who Can Join Today
ANCC’s current FAQ lists civilians, qualifying commissioned and warrant officers, retired and former commissioned officers, first-time commissioned officers, and certain sons and daughters of current members among the people who may apply. Each path has its own conditions.
The sons-and-daughters route is more specific than the old article suggested. The applicant must be at least 23, the qualifying parent must have accumulated at least five years as a Resident Member in good standing, and the applicant must have held Junior A or B status for at least two of those five years. That is different from saying anyone from age 16 to 23 can buy a junior membership for a fixed monthly price.
The official membership-types page currently describes Resident and Absent status. Resident Members under 35 receive discounted dues, while Absent Members living outside the club’s residential limits may use club facilities up to 15 days per calendar year, subject to the published exceptions and excess-use rules. The page directs readers to the Membership Office for actual dues and initiation fees.
The Historical Fee Gap
The 2021 fee schedule produced an unusual spread between military categories. An O-1 was quoted $1,200 (about 1 full-time workweek at $30 per hour), while an O-10 was quoted $24,900. The enlisted/NCO figure was $77,700.
That means the historical enlisted/NCO initiation was 64.75 times the O-1 initiation fee from the same 2021 source. The dollar difference was $76,500. It was also $52,800 above the reported O-10 initiation.
The payment schedule makes the cash burden easier to see. The 2021 application allowed the $77,700 initiation charge to be spread across 12 quarterly installments of $6,475. Four installments equal $25,900 per year, so the initiation alone consumed that amount each year for three years before adding dues or other club charges.
Do not compare that historical enlisted price directly with the current $0 initiation newly commissioned route and conclude that one group now pays 64 times another. They come from different eligibility rules and different dates. The comparison is useful for showing how category-sensitive ANCC pricing has been.
The Capital Infusion and IRS Signal
The hidden member cost is the charge ANCC calls Capital Infusion. The club does not publicly show the current amount, but its membership-types page says an Absent Member who exceeds the annual facility-use limit may face a penalty of up to one month’s Resident dues and capital infusion. That wording confirms Capital Infusion remains a distinct part of the membership cost structure.
ANCC’s tax filings add another financial signal without revealing an individual fee. The latest IRS-derived fiscal 2025 filing reports $50,428,550 in total revenue and $9,719,591 in the combined “Initiation Fees & Contributions” club-income category. That category equals about 19.3% of total revenue.
For fiscal 2024, the same combined category was $12,212,300. The one-year decline was $2,492,709, or about 20.4%. This does not mean ANCC cut its initiation fee by 20.4%. The tax line combines initiation fees and contributions and does not reveal how many people joined or what each member paid. It does show that entry-related club income remains financially material even though the current member fee sheet is private.
Three ANCC Cost Scenarios
Newly commissioned officer today: a qualifying applicant can have a $0 initiation fee. Current dues still apply and are not posted publicly, so the complete first-year cost cannot be calculated from public information.
Historical O-1 case: the club-supplied 2021 schedule listed $1,200 initiation for an O-1. That number should be treated as a dated benchmark, not a quote a new officer should expect in 2026.
Historical enlisted/NCO case: the $77,700 2021 initiation could be paid as $6,475 every quarter for 12 quarters. That produces $25,900 of initiation payments in each of three years, before dues. The installment schedule reduced the upfront cash requirement without reducing the total initiation charge.
A civilian comparison needs the same date label. The 2017 civilian membership report said Barack Obama paid about $75,000 to join. That figure is useful proof that civilian initiation had reached the mid-five figures, but it is too old to publish as today’s civilian price.
When This Membership Cost Makes Sense
Makes sense if:
- You qualify for a membership category whose current initiation and dues fit your budget.
- Your household expects to use the golf, racquet, pool, fitness, dining, or social facilities across both campuses.
- You qualify for the newly commissioned $0 initiation route and expect to remain in the Washington-area club market long enough to use the membership.
- You are comfortable asking the Membership Office for the full dues, capital-infusion, and other charge schedule before applying.
Does not make sense if:
- You are budgeting from a 2017 or 2021 initiation figure without obtaining a current quote.
- You will use only a small part of the club and a public-course or single-sport option meets the same need.
- The current recurring dues or capital-infusion charge would make the membership difficult to carry even if your initiation fee is discounted.
- You are comparing ANCC with another club only by initiation fee while ignoring recurring and category-specific costs.
What We Verified
- Checked: a current ANCC information brochure describes the two-campus club as having 54 golf holes, 500-plus combined acres, substantial racquet facilities, pools, and a 4,000-square-foot Fitness and Wellness Center.
- Confirmed: the current club FAQ provides the $0 initiation path for qualifying newly commissioned officers and sets specific eligibility conditions for sons and daughters of current members.
- Cross-referenced: ANCC’s membership page says current dues and initiation fees must be requested from the Membership Office rather than posting a public rate schedule.
- Verified: the 2021 military figures were supplied to Task & Purpose by ANCC’s membership coordinator, while the $75,000 civilian figure comes from a separate 2017 report and is not current pricing.
Related Private Club Costs
Private-club comparisons work best when initiation, dues, assessments, and access are separated. Other membership pages include the cost of joining Old Ranch Country Club, Aliso Viejo Country Club, and Southern Hills Country Club.
ANCC is especially difficult to rank by one headline number because eligibility changes the entry structure. A current $0 initiation route, an old $77,700 enlisted figure, and an old $75,000 civilian figure describe different applicants at different dates. The current Membership Office quote is the number that should control a purchase decision.
Answers to Common Questions
How much does Army Navy Country Club cost to join?
ANCC does not publish a current general initiation schedule. Historical public figures range from $1,200 to $77,700 depending on military category, while a civilian membership was reported at about $75,000 in 2017.
Can a newly commissioned officer join without an initiation fee?
Yes. Current ANCC rules provide $0 initiation for qualifying first-time commissioned officers who meet the service, rank, timing, and documentation conditions.
How much are ANCC monthly dues?
The current amount is not publicly posted. ANCC directs prospective members to its Membership Office for dues and initiation-fee information.
Does Army Navy Country Club charge a capital fee?
Current club material refers to a separate Capital Infusion charge, but the public membership page does not disclose the amount.
Does ANCC have both military and civilian members?
Yes. Current eligibility information includes civilians along with qualifying current, retired, and former commissioned or warrant officers and several other eligibility routes.
Disclosure: Educational content, not financial advice. Prices reflect public information as of the dates cited and can change. Confirm current rates, fees, taxes, and terms with official sources before purchasing. See our methodology and corrections policy.
