How Much Does a CTS Certification Cost?

The Certified Technology Specialist (CTS) program has been administered by InfoComm for more than thirty years. This certification is known as a leading global AV professional proof of ability. There are more than ten thousand CTS-certified professionals worldwide.

How Much Does a CTS Certification Cost?

The cost of CTS certification will vary depending on the status of the applicant (if they are a non-member or member of InfoComm) and the type of exam.

You should be prepared to pay around $320 for the CTS exam if you are a member. For non-members, the fee is around $420. If you are in a developing country, you will have to pay $220 as a non-member and $180 as a member.

The fee for the CTS-D exam is around $550 for non-members and $420 for members. Those who are living in developing countries will have to pay around $270 if they are non-members and $220 if they are members.

The costs for the CTS-I exam are similar to the fees for the CTS-D exam. So, members of InfoComm will have to pay $550, while non-members will have to get $420 out of their pocket. Also, those members living in developing countries will have to pay $220, while the fee for non-members from developing countries is $270.

Types of CTS certifications

Certified Technology Specialist (CTS)

In order to qualify for this exam, applicants will not have to take any classes ahead of time. As a Certified Technology Specialist (CTS) you will work on typical technology solution tasks by running, working, and making AV solutions. Also, you will carry out AV management activities that provide the best possible solution to the customer’s needs which satisfies both a budget and time.

Certified Technology Specialist-Installation (CTS-I)

As a Certified Technology Specialist-Installation (CTS-I) you will be able to keep working and install audiovisual systems by following schematics, specifications, codes, and safety rules. If you want to take this exam, you will have to have experience in six skill fields.

Certified Technology Specialist-Design (CTS-D)

If you want to take the exam for the Certified Technology Specialist-Design, you will have to have a minimum of two years of experience in design and a valid CTS certificate. A CTS-D is an AV system designer who is able to determine the customer’s needs, prepare AV design paperwork, work and coordinate other professionals to create AV systems, and design AV systems, that meet the customer’s requirements.

One of the biggest names in the industry to offer help for CTS certification is Avixa.

Which are the additional expenses?

In case you fail an exam, you can retake it but you will have to pay an extra fee. In this situation, you will be able to retest up to two more times, but a minimum of thirty days will have to pass between each reexamination.

You should plan on spending extra for optional exam study materials, resources, and guides to improve your knowledge. For instance, you can find different study guides on that cost $15 to more than $60.

Important things to consider

The Technology Specialist, Technology Specialist-Installation, and Technology Specialist-Design certifications are recognized by the American National Standards Institute (ANSI) under the ISO (International Organization of Standardization).

You might also like our articles on the cost of ACLS certification, the John Maxwell certification program, or Dale Carnegie Training.

The availability period for a CTS certification is of three years.

Applicants have to get 350 points out of 500 in order to pass the exam and obtain the certification.

The exam has to be completed within 120 days of the approval date to test.

Certified StampIf you want to take the CTS certification, you will have to complete the application for certification testing, which you can find on the InfoComm official website. After that, within ten days, InfoComm will say whether the applicant is eligible and will notify the test administrator, which is Pearson VUE.

In order to check if you are eligible, you will have to look at the Verifiers List for CTS-I Eligibility and Recognized Courses for CTS-I Eligibility.

The CTS-I exam is extensive and verifies whether you are qualified and experienced in six AV installation skill areas including customer relations, audio setup, rack mounting, projector installation, and/or rack building.

You can find free online exams and review tools for the CTS-I, CTS-D, and CTS exams.

Pay attention to the trick questions because these can be solved in different ways and can have more than one right answer. And you will have to give the best answer to pass the CTS exam.

The CTS certification is only valid for three years. In order to maintain this certification, you should complete the minimum levels of continuing education during this period. You can renew your certificate after you complete thirty hours of continuing education credits for each examination.

Tips for saving money on the Certified Technology Specialist exam

You can get a 25% discount on the exam if you are an InfoComm member. Take into consideration signing up for the InfoComm and take advantage of their benefits like job opportunities, discounts on CTS exams and retakes, publications, and free practice questions and study tools.


0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *