ThePricer Media
  • Latest: When Is an Electric Car Actually Cheaper?
  • Cost Guides
  • News & Investigations
  • Daily Price Puzzle (60s)
  • Methodology
  • Press & Mentions
  • Contact
  • Click to open the search input field Click to open the search input field Search
  • Menu Menu
Family & Lifestyle, Sports & Hobbies

How Much Does the Austin Country Club Membership Cost?

Updated on August 11, 2026 | Written by Alec Pow
This article was researched using 11 sources. See our methodology and corrections policy.

Austin Country Club does not publish its initiation fee or monthly dues, but the best current 2026 membership estimate puts a full golf membership at about $150,000+ to join and $1,000+ per month in dues. Older golf reporting placed initiation around $100,000, so the safest published range is $100,000-$150,000+ for initiation, with the current dues figure treated as an unofficial estimate.

The club itself confirms only that Austin Country Club is private, member-owned, invitation-only, and offers Golf, Racquet, and Social memberships. It does not post a public fee sheet. That means an exact quote for initiation, dues, capital charges, food minimums, marina costs, assessments, or other member charges must come from the club through the invitation process.

The club discussed here is the historic Austin Country Club at 4408 Long Champ Drive in Austin, Texas. It should not be confused with Austin Country Club in Austin, Minnesota. Old online pricing tables containing “Hormel Foods” membership categories belong to the Minnesota club and should not be used to estimate membership costs at the Texas club.

Article Highlights

Jump to sections
  • Does an Austin Country Club Membership Co…
  • What Membership Actually Buys
  • Three Membership Cost Scenarios
  • The 17-Year Waitlist Claim
  • Why Old Austin Pricing Is Misleading
  • Golf, Racquets, Pool, and Marina
  • Costs to Ask About Before Joining
★ Prefer ThePricer on Google
  • Austin Country Club does not publish an official membership price list.
  • A current 2026 third-party estimate puts full golf initiation at $150,000+ (at $30 per hour, earning that amount would take about 2.4 years of full-time work, before taxes) and monthly dues at $1,000+.
  • Older golf publications reported an initiation fee around $100,000, giving a cautious public estimate of $100,000-$150,000+.
  • Using the current estimate, the simple first-year membership cost is at least $162,000 before assessments, food minimums, golf charges, marina costs, taxes, or other club spending.
  • Austin Country Club officially lists Golf, Racquet, and Social membership categories, all by invitation.
  • Older reports put the golf wait near 17 years, but Austin Country Club does not publish a current wait time.
Austin Country Club Cost

How Much Does an Austin Country Club Membership Cost?

Membership cost item Best public price signal Confidence
Full golf initiation $150,000+ (about 2.4 years of full-time work at $30 per hour) Current 2026 third-party estimate
Monthly golf dues $1,000+ Current 2026 third-party estimate
Older reported initiation About $100,000 Historical golf-media reporting
First-year simple cost $162,000+ Calculated from $150,000 + 12 × $1,000
Racquet membership Not publicly disclosed Official category, private pricing
Social membership Not publicly disclosed Official category, private pricing

The current estimate comes from an Austin luxury real-estate team rather than ACC. Its July 2026 profile tells readers to verify fees and availability with the club, so $150,000+ initiation and $1,000+ dues should not be described as official ACC pricing.

Older reporting provides useful corroboration at a lower historical level. Sportscasting reported an initiation fee in the $100,000 range in 2023. The older figures help show the direction of reported pricing over time, but they should not override the higher current 2026 estimate.

Related guides

  • How Much Does a Gleneagles Country Club Membership Cost?
  • How Much Does Riviera Country Club Membership Cost?
  • How Much Does a Birmingham Country Club Membership Cost?

What Membership Actually Buys

Austin Country Club is a member-owned private club rather than a public golf course with an annual pass. Membership controls access to a broader club environment that combines golf, racquet sports, fitness, swimming, dining, social events, and boating facilities on the Colorado River. The club’s current membership page names Golf, Racquet, and Social as distinct categories, so access rights are not identical across every member class.

The property spans more than 180 acres in Davenport Ranch. Its Pete Dye golf course opened at the current site in 1984, and the club has deep ties to Harvey Penick, Ben Crenshaw, and Tom Kite. The PGA Tour’s Austin Country Club history also documents the course’s role as host of the WGC-Dell Technologies Match Play.

Three Membership Cost Scenarios

Case 1: a new full-golf member using the current estimate. Start with the estimated $150,000 (about 2.4 years of full-time work at $30 per hour) initiation fee and add 12 months of estimated dues at $1,000 per month. That produces a simple first-year baseline of $162,000 before any capital charges, food minimums, golf fees, or optional marina spending.

Case 2: staying five years at the same dues level. If the initiation fee is paid once and dues remained at exactly $1,000 per month, five years of dues would add $60,000. The simple five-year baseline becomes $210,000. This is scenario math only. Actual dues can rise, and assessments or other charges could make the real amount higher.

Case 3: applying for Racquet or Social membership. ACC confirms that both categories exist, but it does not publish their initiation fees or dues. The $150,000+ golf estimate should not be copied onto those classes. For a Racquet or Social applicant, the defensible public price is quote-only until a current Texas source provides a fee schedule.

The scale is easier to see when compared with the broader private-club market. A 2025 Kiplinger private-club cost report cited an average initiation fee around $65,000 and monthly dues around $1,000. Austin Country Club’s current estimated initiation is more than twice that reported average, while the dues estimate sits near the same broad monthly level.

The 17-Year Waitlist Claim

Money is not the only barrier. Austin Country Club’s official membership page says the club is private, member-owned, and membership is by invitation. It lists Golf, Racquet, and Social memberships and directs interested people to contact a member of the club.

Golf Monthly and Sportscasting have both reported a golf waitlist of roughly 17 years. Those articles are several years old, and ACC does not currently publish a number, so “17 years” should be treated as a historical reported wait rather than a guaranteed 2026 timeline. The current Keenan Group profile uses the more cautious description “multi-year waitlist.”

The practical implication is that having enough money for the initiation fee does not create immediate access. Invitation, club approval, available membership capacity, and the applicable wait process can matter as much as the price.

Why Old Austin Pricing Is Misleading

Several older internet pages quote a $13,500 social initiation, an $80,000 resident initiation, or dues near $170-$240 per month. One older Austin Country Club cost summary traces some of those numbers to an old City-Data discussion while separately noting the reported $100,000 golf initiation.

Those old forum-based figures are too dated to use as a 2026 price answer. More seriously, a separate table that circulated online with membership labels such as “Hormel Foods Lifestyle” and “Hormel Foods Foundational” belongs to Austin Country Club in Minnesota, not Austin Country Club in Texas. The Minnesota club’s official history says it was founded in 1919 by George A. Hormel, founder of Hormel Foods. The Texas club’s current membership categories are Golf, Racquet, and Social. Mixing the two clubs can make the Texas dues appear far lower than current market evidence supports.

The better rule is simple: use the $100,000-$150,000+ golf initiation band as a public estimate, label the $1,000+ monthly dues as a current third-party estimate, and leave Social and Racquet pricing undisclosed until a reliable Texas source provides current numbers.

Golf, Racquets, Pool, and Marina

Austin Country Club

The club’s current amenities listing confirms an 18-hole Pete Dye course, Harvey Penick learning center, 10 lighted tennis courts, a heated 25-meter pool, fitness facility, private marina, five food-and-beverage venues, ballroom, meeting rooms, and locker facilities. The tennis complex has eight hard courts and two Har-Tru courts, while the marina has 57 boat slips.

The marina matters because it introduces another possible cost layer that is not captured in generic golf dues. ACC says slips are available for private lease to eligible member categories and that a separate Boat Club membership is available. The club does not publish the current slip or Boat Club price on the public amenities page.

For golf, the current site describes a 180-acre Pete Dye layout. The Texas Golf Hall of Fame profile places the club among the oldest existing clubs in Texas and notes its long association with Harvey Penick. That history and the club’s tournament pedigree help explain why its membership price is not comparable with a normal annual golf pass.

Costs to Ask About Before Joining

The unknown charges matter because a six-figure initiation fee can make smaller recurring expenses seem insignificant when they are not. A prospective member should ask for the complete schedule that applies to the exact membership class before relying on a single initiation number.

Ask whether the quote includes or excludes:

  • Capital dues or renovation assessments
  • Food-and-beverage minimums
  • Cart or trail fees
  • Locker and bag-storage fees
  • Golf association or handicap charges
  • Tournament and event fees
  • Guest charges
  • Marina slip lease or Boat Club charges
  • Taxes and service charges where applicable

None of those figures should be invented from another private club. Austin Country Club’s public site does not currently provide enough information to publish them as official Texas ACC charges.

When the Membership Cost Makes Sense

Austin Country Club is priced as a private family club with golf, racquets, aquatics, fitness, dining, social programming, and boating rather than as access to one golf course. The financial case becomes stronger for a household that uses several of those facilities frequently and expects to stay in Austin for years.

Makes sense if:

  • You want access to the Pete Dye course and the broader club rather than golf alone.
  • Your household would use tennis, pickleball, pool, fitness, dining, or marina amenities.
  • You are comfortable with an invitation process and potentially long wait for golf access.
  • The initiation payment fits your finances even if it does not function like a refundable investment.

Does not make sense if:

  • Your main goal is inexpensive access to golf in Austin.
  • You would use the club only a few times per month.
  • You need immediate golf membership rather than a multi-year path.
  • You are budgeting only for the initiation fee and have not priced recurring or assessment-related charges.

What We Verified

  • Checked: Austin Country Club officially lists Golf, Racquet, and Social membership classes and confirms that membership is by invitation.
  • Confirmed: the club’s current attire policy recognizes separate golf, tennis and pickleball, fitness, pool, and clubhouse areas, consistent with the broader amenity structure described above.
  • Cross-referenced: Golf Monthly and Sportscasting independently reported an initiation fee near $100,000 and a historical wait near 17 years.
  • Verified: the current 2026 Keenan Group estimate raises the full-golf price signal to $150,000+ initiation and $1,000+ monthly dues, while explicitly telling readers to verify current fees with the club.

Related Country Club Membership Costs

For another private-club comparison, the Navesink Country Club membership cost shows how initiation fees, recurring dues, and private access can differ by market. The Echo Lake Country Club membership cost provides another invitation-driven club comparison.

The Butterfield Country Club membership cost is useful for comparing another established golf-and-social club. No outside club’s fee should be used to fill a missing Austin Country Club number, since membership classes and capital structures can differ sharply.

Answers to Common Questions

How much is Austin Country Club membership?

Austin Country Club does not publish official fees. The best current 2026 third-party estimate is $150,000+ for full golf initiation and $1,000+ per month, while older golf reporting placed initiation around $100,000.

How much would the first year cost?

Using the current estimate, $150,000 initiation plus 12 months at $1,000 equals at least $162,000. That does not include any undisclosed assessments, minimums, golf charges, marina costs, or other club spending.

Is Austin Country Club invitation-only?

Yes. The club officially states that it is private, member-owned, and membership is by invitation. Its current categories are Golf, Racquet, and Social.

Is the Austin Country Club waitlist really 17 years?

Older golf publications reported a wait of roughly 17 years, but the club does not publish a current wait time. A current 2026 third-party profile describes the wait as multi-year.

Does Austin Country Club have a marina?

Yes. The club has a 57-slip private marina and also offers a Boat Club membership. Public pricing for slip leases and Boat Club access is not disclosed.

Disclosure: Educational content, not financial advice. Prices reflect public information as of the dates cited and can change. Confirm current rates, fees, taxes, and terms with official sources before purchasing. See our methodology and corrections policy.

by Alec Pow
ThePricer cost research Independent price research used by media, universities and public institutions.

We research provider pricing, market examples, buyer reports, hidden fees and public records.

Methodology · Citations · Newsroom
© 2014 - 2026 - ThePricer Media, LLC, 4 Grove Street, New York, NY, 10014, Phone: (212) 431-2441
We don’t use affiliate links or paid placements. All sources are cited only for verification.
  • Link to X
  • Link to LinkedIn
  • Link to Facebook
  • Link to Instagram
  • Link to Pinterest
  • Link to Youtube
  • Contact Us
  • About Us
  • Press & Mentions
  • Careers
  • Meet the Founder
  • Privacy Policy
  • Editorial Ethics
  • Methodology
  • Corrections
  • Disclosure
  • Terms and Conditions
Scroll to top Scroll to top Scroll to top