How Much Does a Birmingham Country Club Membership Cost?
Updated on | Written by Alec Pow
This article was researched using 8 sources. See our methodology and corrections policy.
Membership at The Country Club of Birmingham in Birmingham, Alabama, is estimated at roughly $50,000 to $100,000+ for the initiation fee and about $8,000 to $15,000+ per year in dues. The club does not publish a current public rate sheet, so these are market estimates rather than official quoted fees. A 2023 Birmingham golfer reported an initiation fee of $75,000, which falls inside the current estimated range, but that figure is anecdotal and should not be treated as today’s guaranteed entry price.
The practical first-year membership budget is about $58,000 to $115,000+ before any food minimum, capital assessment, golf-related charges, locker or storage fees, guest charges, taxes, or other club-specific extras. The club’s latest available Form 990 adds a harder financial signal: The Country Club of Birmingham reported $2,605,533 in initiation fees and contributions for 2024, confirming that entrance-related revenue remains a substantial part of the club’s finances.
This article covers The Country Club of Birmingham at 3325 Country Club Road in Birmingham, Alabama, founded in 1898 and home to the East and West golf courses. It should not be confused with Birmingham Country Club in Birmingham, Michigan, a separate club whose membership categories and older fee figures have sometimes been attributed to the Alabama club online.
Article Highlights
Jump to sections
- Estimated initiation fee: $50,000-$100,000+ (at $30 per hour, earning that amount would take about 0.8 to 1.6 years of full-time work, before taxes), based on current secondary market estimates rather than a public CCB rate sheet.
- Estimated annual dues: $8,000-$15,000+, equivalent to about $667-$1,250+ per month.
- Estimated first-year base cost: $58,000-$115,000+ before unverified club extras.
- User-reported price: one Birmingham discussion in 2023 put CCB initiation at $75,000. Treat that figure as anecdotal and historical.
- Hard financial signal: CCB reported $2.61 million in initiation fees and contributions on its 2024 Form 990.
- Club facilities: two Donald Ross-rooted golf courses plus aquatics, fitness, racquet sports, dining, and social facilities.
- Major unknowns: current assessments, minimum spending, cart or storage charges, sponsorship requirements, waitlist status, and the exact dues for each membership category are not published publicly.

How Much Does The Country Club of Birmingham Membership Cost?
Current public evidence supports a broad estimate rather than one exact fee. A current Alabama club pricing survey estimates The Country Club of Birmingham initiation fee at $50,000 to $100,000+ (about 0.8 to 1.6 years of full-time work at $30 per hour) and annual dues at $8,000 to $15,000+. Those numbers are not an official quote from CCB, so they should be read as an estimated market range.
| Country Club of Birmingham cost | Current working figure | Confidence |
|---|---|---|
| Initiation fee | $50,000-$100,000+ | Estimated, not officially published |
| Annual dues | $8,000-$15,000+ | Estimated, not officially published |
| Monthly equivalent of annual dues | $667-$1,250+ | Calculated from estimated annual dues |
| First-year base membership cost | $58,000-$115,000+ | Calculated before additional club charges |
| 2023 user-reported initiation fee | $75,000 | Anecdotal and historical |
| 2024 initiation fees and contributions reported by club | $2,605,533 | Form 990 financial disclosure |
Another membership database lists CCB as having a six-figure-format initiation fee and four-digit monthly dues in its protected 2026 data, but it does not expose the actual numbers without an account. Its public Birmingham membership comparison confirms that CCB requires an initiation fee plus recurring dues and places private-club initiation costs in the Birmingham market in the tens of thousands of dollars.
A 2023 Birmingham club discussion included one commenter who put CCB’s initiation fee at $75,000. The same discussion described top-tier Birmingham clubs at roughly $50,000 to join and around $700 per month plus food and beverage spending, but the monthly figure was a broad local-market comment, not a CCB-specific quote. It should not be turned into a claimed Country Club of Birmingham dues rate.
What You’re Actually Buying
The Country Club of Birmingham is a private social and recreational club founded in 1898. Its current Alabama property has 36 holes split between the East and West courses, along with racquet facilities, aquatics, fitness, dining, member events, and clubhouse spaces. Membership is access to the club as a whole rather than a season pass for one golf course.
The distinction matters when comparing CCB with a daily-fee course or golf-only membership. A public golf price buys tee times. A full private-club membership can combine golf access with family recreation, dining, social programming, practice facilities, pools, fitness, and member privileges. The club itself describes these current Birmingham facilities as two golf courses plus aquatics, fitness, racquet sports, dining, and social experiences.
The Published Fee
CCB does not display an initiation fee, monthly dues schedule, food minimum, capital charge, or membership application price on its public website. That makes a claimed exact number such as $60,000 (about 11.5 months of full-time work at $30 per hour) initiation and $980 per month much weaker than it appears unless it comes with a current club document or member invoice.
The strongest public financial evidence is the club’s tax filing. The latest Country Club of Birmingham Form 990 data shows $26,997,185 in 2024 revenue and $2,605,533 in initiation fees and contributions. The filing identifies the organization as the Country Club of Birmingham in Mountain Brook, Alabama.
That $2.61 million figure provides scale but does not reveal the fee paid by one new member. If every dollar represented initiation fees at $50,000, the amount would equal about 52 such payments. At $100,000 each, it would equal about 26. The real filing can include contributions and does not disclose how many memberships generated the total, so neither calculation proves the club admitted 26 or 52 members. It does show why a five-figure initiation estimate is more plausible than treating this as an inexpensive local golf membership.
The hidden-cost question matters just as much. Private clubs can charge for food minimums, capital projects, lockers, bag storage, carts, golf services, guests, private instruction, special events, or assessments. No current public CCB document found for this article establishes those amounts. They belong in the budget as quote-only costs, not invented line items.
A 2024 Birmingham Business Journal report said local country clubs were raising dues and initiation fees while investing in facilities. That local pricing pressure is another reason an older CCB membership quote should not automatically be carried forward into 2026.
The First Year
The initiation fee and annual dues alone produce a wide first-year range. At the lower published estimate, $50,000 initiation + $8,000 annual dues = $58,000. At the upper end, $100,000 initiation + $15,000 annual dues = $115,000. Neither number includes unverified assessments or discretionary club spending.
The dues estimate also translates to roughly $667 to $1,250 per month when the $8,000 to $15,000 annual range is divided by 12. This monthly equivalent is arithmetic, not proof that CCB bills members monthly or uses those exact monthly rates.
Scenario 1, lower estimate: a new member joining at an estimated $50,000 initiation fee with $8,000 in annual dues reaches a $58,000 first-year base cost. Food, golf extras, assessments, and other charges would sit on top of that amount if applicable.
Scenario 2, midpoint: using the anecdotal $75,000 2023 initiation report with the midpoint of the current estimated annual-dues range, $11,500, creates an illustrative $86,500 first-year base. This is scenario math assembled from sources of different confidence levels, not a quoted CCB package.
Scenario 3, high estimate: an initiation fee of $100,000 plus annual dues of $15,000 produces a $115,000 first-year base cost. A household comparing clubs should not compare this number with another club’s initiation fee alone. The competing quote needs initiation, dues, mandatory minimums, assessments, and recurring golf charges on the same sheet.
A practical worked budget would start with the $75,000 user-reported initiation number, add an illustrative $11,500 annual dues amount drawn from the center of the published $8,000 to $15,000 estimate, and arrive at $86,500 before club-specific extras. If an application reveals a food minimum, capital assessment, storage charge, or other mandatory fee, each should be added separately rather than hidden inside the dues number.
Two Courses
The old version of this article described a single 1916 Thomas Bendelow course. That belongs to Birmingham Country Club in Michigan, not the Alabama club covered here.
The real CCB traces both the East and West courses to Donald Ross. The club’s published history of the courses says Ross designed both layouts, giving the Birmingham property 36 holes at one club. The West later received work associated with Robert Trent Jones Sr., Pete Dye, and P.B. Dye.
The West Course also carries substantial golf pedigree. Golf Digest’s current West Course profile places it among Alabama’s recognized private courses, while the USGA records CCB’s West Course as the venue for the 2022 U.S. Amateur Four-Ball championship, played at up to 7,166 yards.
That matters to the value comparison. A golfer comparing CCB with a private club offering one 18-hole layout is not comparing identical golf inventory. The difference does not prove that CCB is worth a particular initiation fee, but it helps explain why membership pricing cannot be evaluated solely against a public-course annual pass.
Guest Access and Membership Entry
The public CCB website welcomes guests for tournaments, family visits, and other club use, but public guest information does not turn the property into a pay-and-play facility. The club remains private.
The current CCB guest and dress rules also show why the old article’s blanket claim that jeans are prohibited indoors is wrong. Dress varies by room. The West Lounge carries stricter requirements, including jackets for men age 12 and older at Friday and Saturday dinner, while other areas permit nice jeans in specified circumstances and Milner’s uses a more relaxed standard.
Public material does not state the current number of member sponsors required, whether every membership category has a waitlist, or how long an applicant might wait. Those points should be confirmed directly with the club before treating an estimated initiation fee as immediately purchasable access.
The same applies to family privileges. A private club can structure spouse, dependent, junior, corporate, social, and legacy access differently, but no current public CCB rate sheet supports carrying over the old article’s Corporate, Social, Under 40, and Intermediate categories. Those categories came from Birmingham Country Club in Michigan and should not be attributed to CCB in Alabama.
Who This Cost Makes Sense For
Makes sense if:
- Two private golf courses materially improve how often your household would use the membership.
- Golf, racquet sports, aquatics, fitness, dining, and social use would all be part of the household’s routine.
- A possible $58,000 to $115,000+ first-year base outlay fits comfortably without relying on the membership as an investment.
- You value a long-established private club and expect to remain in the Birmingham area long enough to use it heavily.
Does not make sense if:
- You mainly want occasional golf and would use little of the non-golf club.
- The initiation fee would require stretching the household budget before recurring dues and extras are counted.
- You are comparing the initiation fee with public-course green fees while ignoring annual dues.
- You may relocate soon and have not confirmed resignation, transfer, refund, or membership-equity terms.
What We Verified
- Confirmed: The Country Club of Birmingham was founded in 1898 and currently operates at 3325 Country Club Road in Birmingham, Alabama, according to its public club information.
- Checked: the club has 36 holes across East and West courses, not the single Thomas Bendelow course described in the former article.
- Verified: the 2024 Form 990 reports $2,605,533 under initiation fees and contributions and identifies the organization as a 501(c)(7) social club.
- Cross-referenced: the current $50,000-$100,000+ initiation and $8,000-$15,000+ annual dues figures are third-party estimates, not an official public club price sheet.
- Checked: a user-reported $75,000 initiation figure exists for CCB in a 2023 Birmingham discussion, but it remains anecdotal and historical.
Related Private Club Costs
At the high end of American private golf, initiation fees can move well beyond Birmingham estimates. Membership pricing at Riviera Country Club gives a useful comparison with a nationally prominent Los Angeles club, while Medinah Country Club membership provides another benchmark for a historic multi-course private club.
For a regional comparison from another major Southern city, the cost of Austin Country Club membership shows why initiation fees should always be compared alongside recurring dues and other mandatory spending rather than as standalone admission prices.
Answers to Common Questions
How much is the initiation fee at The Country Club of Birmingham?
Current third-party estimates place it around $50,000 to $100,000+. One 2023 Birmingham commenter reported $75,000, but CCB does not publish an official current initiation fee publicly.
How much are Country Club of Birmingham dues?
Published estimates put annual dues around $8,000 to $15,000+, equal to about $667 to $1,250 per month when divided by 12. The monthly calculation does not establish CCB’s actual billing schedule.
What would the first year cost?
Using the current estimated ranges, initiation plus annual dues produces a first-year base of roughly $58,000 to $115,000+. Any mandatory minimums, assessments, storage, cart charges, or other fees would increase that amount.
Does The Country Club of Birmingham have one or two golf courses?
It has two 18-hole courses, East and West, for 36 holes at the Birmingham property. Both have roots in Donald Ross designs.
Is Birmingham Country Club in Michigan the same club?
No. Birmingham Country Club in Michigan is a separate organization. Membership categories, a Thomas Bendelow course, and other details associated with that Michigan club should not be used to describe The Country Club of Birmingham in Alabama.
Disclosure: Educational content, not financial advice. Prices reflect public information as of the dates cited and can change. Confirm current rates, fees, taxes, and terms with official sources before purchasing. See our methodology and corrections policy.
