ThePricer Media
  • Latest: When Is an Electric Car Actually Cheaper?
  • Cost Guides
  • News & Investigations
  • Daily Price Puzzle (60s)
  • Methodology
  • Press & Mentions
  • Contact
  • Click to open the search input field Click to open the search input field Search
  • Menu Menu
Family & Lifestyle, Fancy, Sports & Hobbies

How Much Does Riviera Country Club Membership Cost?

Updated on August 13, 2026 | Written by Alec Pow
This article was researched using 14 sources. See our methodology and corrections policy.

A defensible public price range for Riviera Country Club membership is about $250,000 to $300,000 for initiation, plus reported annual dues from $25,000 to $65,000. A Pacific Palisades club report places initiation at $250,000 to $300,000 and dues at $25,000 to $40,000 per year, while an Irish Independent report put the figures at $300,000 to join plus $65,000 in annual dues.

Those reports produce a first-year base of roughly $275,000 to $365,000 before guest golf, caddies, dining, lessons, events, or other member charges. The club does not publish a public fee sheet, and a 2026 Riviera membership profile also lists the fees as undisclosed, so the numbers above are reported market signals rather than an official 2026 quote.

This article concerns The Riviera Country Club at 1250 Capri Drive in Pacific Palisades, California. Membership cost here means the entry payment and recurring private-club dues, not a charity outing, tournament hospitality package, or guest round. Riviera combines a private 18-hole golf club with a large tennis operation.

Article Highlights

Jump to sections
  • Does Riviera Country Club Membership Cost?
  • What You’re Actually Buying
  • Why the Public Numbers Conflict
  • Non-Equity Changes the Math
  • Three Riviera Cost Scenarios
  • A $344,200 First-Year Scenario
  • Who This Cost Makes Sense For
★ Prefer ThePricer on Google
  • Reported Riviera initiation pricing clusters around $250,000 to $300,000 (at $30 per hour, earning that amount would take about 4 to 4.8 years of full-time work, before taxes).
  • Reported annual dues conflict, with figures from $25,000 to $65,000 per year.
  • A sourced first-year base works out to roughly $275,000 to $365,000 before variable member spending.
  • Riviera does not publish a public membership fee schedule, so precise current tiers should not be stated as fact.
  • Historical Los Angeles Times reporting shows the initiation fee rising from $25,000 in 1989 to $85,000 in 2000 before later reports moved above $250,000.
  • Riviera has long been described as a non-equity club, which makes resignation and refund terms a major part of the membership economics.
Riviera Country Club Membership Cost

How Much Does Riviera Country Club Membership Cost?

Riviera’s public pricing trail is unusually useful because several older reports gave exact figures while newer reports shifted to estimates. The table separates dated facts from later reported prices instead of blending them into one false fee schedule.

Evidence date Public source Initiation fee Recurring cost reported How to read it
1989 Los Angeles Times ownership report $25,000 (about 4.8 months of full-time work at $30 per hour) At least $3,870 per year Historical figure reported while the club changed ownership
1995 Los Angeles Times PGA report $75,000 About $500 per month for Gold members Historical figure with a named membership class
2000 Los Angeles Times member report $85,000 $590 per month plus a $300 quarterly food minimum Historical figure with dues and a required spending line
2016 Golf Digest membership report North of $250,000 Not stated Reported initiation signal, not a club rate sheet
2022 Golf Monthly access report About $300,000 Not stated Reported initiation signal

The historical math shows how fast the entry price changed. In 1989, the published first-year base was at least $28,870, calculated as the $25,000 initiation fee plus at least $3,870 in annual dues. By 1995, $75,000 to join plus about $500 × 12 = $6,000 in dues produced a first-year base near $81,000.

The 2000 numbers are even more useful because they included a food minimum. The arithmetic was $85,000 + ($590 × 12) + ($300 × 4) = $93,280 before variable golf and dining above the minimum. Comparing the $85,000 initiation fee in 2000 with later reports of $250,000 to $300,000 shows a nominal increase of about 194% to 253%.

What You’re Actually Buying

Riviera Country Club

Riviera membership is access to a private Los Angeles golf and racquet club, not the purchase of a public tee-time package. The golf side centers on George C. Thomas’s 18-hole course and the member facilities surrounding it. The tennis side operates as a substantial club of its own, with courts, instruction, and member programming. A membership relationship can also carry dining, social, guest, locker, lesson, event, and tournament-period rules that sit outside the initiation payment.

That makes Riviera different from a daily-fee golf course and from a residential club where membership may be tied to real estate. It is also different from buying a transferable asset unless the current membership contract expressly gives the member such a right. The practical product is permission to use the club under its bylaws, house rules, category restrictions, and billing terms. Those documents matter as much as the headline initiation number.

Related guides

  • How Much Does a Canoe Brook Country Club Membership Cost?
  • How Much Does Dedham Country Club Membership Cost?
  • How Much Does Coto De Caza Country Club Membership Cost?

Why the Public Numbers Conflict

Private clubs can change joining fees as openings, demand, age categories, family status, and membership classes change. Riviera keeps the current schedule out of public view. That is why a precise list of Full Golf, Sports, Social, Corporate, and Junior prices should not be published unless a dated Riviera document supports each figure.

The reported dues spread is the weakest part of the public evidence. One source places dues near $25,000 to $40,000 per year, while another gives $65,000. Those figures should not be averaged into a made-up middle number. They may reflect different dates, categories, included charges, or incomplete information.

The distinction also affects comparisons. A $300,000 initiation fee is not a $300,000 first-year cost, and a club with refundable equity cannot be compared directly with a non-equity club using only the joining check. Broader country club membership costs show how dues, minimum spending, assessments, and exit terms can change the economics even when two initiation fees look similar.

Non-Equity Changes the Math

Riviera has long been described as a non-equity club. A July 2026 secondary club review still describes the membership as non-equity and reports an initiation figure around $250,000+, while warning that the club does not publish the fee itself. The same source says members do not receive the initiation payment back, but that point should be verified in the current membership agreement before treating the fee as permanently nonrefundable.

The distinction is expensive. If a member paid a nonrefundable $250,000 initiation fee and stayed five years, the entry payment alone would represent $50,000 per year of membership life. Over ten years it would fall to $25,000 per year, before one dollar of dues or use-based spending.

Ask for the resignation, refund, transfer, death, divorce, suspension, and expulsion provisions in writing. At this price level, the exit rules can change the effective cost more than several years of guest fees.

Three Riviera Cost Scenarios

Lower reported base: Using $250,000 for initiation and $25,000 for one year of dues gives a first-year base of $275,000. This is the low end of the public reporting used here and does not include dining, caddies, guests, lessons, or other account charges.

Higher reported base: Using the $300,000 initiation and $65,000 annual-dues report gives $365,000 in the first year before variable spending. The difference between the two public scenarios is $90,000, which is why Riviera dues should be treated as unconfirmed until the club provides a direct quote.

Long-stay member: If initiation were $250,000 to $300,000 and annual dues stayed flat at $25,000 to $65,000 for ten years, the simple base would total $500,000 to $950,000. Real dues can change, so this is a static-dollar comparison rather than a ten-year forecast.

A $344,200 First-Year Scenario

A middle-high planning case can be built without inventing a dining minimum or assessment. Use a $300,000 reported initiation fee, $40,000 in reported annual dues, and assume the member pays for one guest round each month. A published Riviera guest-price report put an 18-hole guest round near $350, before caddie fee and tip.

  • Reported initiation fee: $300,000
  • Reported annual dues: $40,000
  • 12 guest rounds at $350: $4,200
  • Calculated first-year scenario: $344,200

The arithmetic is $300,000 + $40,000 + (12 × $350) = $344,200. Caddie charges, gratuities, dining, lessons, locker or storage charges, events, taxes where applicable, and any capital or special charges are excluded because no reliable current public Riviera schedule supports inserting those amounts.

Who This Cost Makes Sense For

Makes sense if:

  • You have access to the membership process and want Riviera specifically rather than private golf in Los Angeles as a broad category.
  • You expect frequent use of both the golf and club facilities over many years.
  • You can absorb a large nonrefundable or potentially nonrefundable entry payment without relying on resale value.
  • You value Riviera’s tournament course, club history, tennis program, and private social setting enough to accept unpublished pricing.

Does not make sense if:

  • You are choosing mainly by cost per round.
  • You expect the initiation payment to behave like an ownership investment.
  • You need predictable long-term dues before applying.
  • You would use the club only a few times per year and can access private golf through guests, charity events, or other clubs.

What We Verified

  • Checked: Riviera’s official membership contact page directs membership inquiries to General Manager Jim Richerson and does not display an initiation or dues schedule.
  • Confirmed: the club’s official tennis page lists 24 courts, including 22 hard courts and 2 clay courts.
  • Cross-referenced: a June 2026 Golf Digest report describes prospective members having a final interview at Riviera, supporting the point that admission involves more than paying a fee.
  • Verified: LA28’s venue page confirms Riviera as the golf venue for the 2028 Olympic Games.

Related Private Club Costs

Riviera sits far above the entry price of many private clubs, so the useful comparison is with other selective clubs rather than a local semi-private course. Los Angeles buyers can compare the public evidence for Wilshire Country Club membership, where the club also keeps its fee sheet private.

Outside California, Medinah Country Club membership provides another championship-club comparison, while Austin Country Club membership shows how a different private-club market handles initiation and ongoing dues.

The fee uncertainty at Navesink Country Club is also useful for one reason: a club-specific estimate should be labeled as an estimate when no official schedule exists. Riviera deserves the same treatment rather than a fabricated list of membership categories and exact prices.

Answers to Common Questions

How much does it cost to join Riviera Country Club?

Public reports place the initiation fee around $250,000 to $300,000. Riviera does not publish a current public fee sheet, so treat that as reported pricing rather than an official quote.

How much are Riviera Country Club annual dues?

Published reports conflict. One puts dues around $25,000 to $40,000 per year, while another reported $65,000. A prospective member should get the current category-specific dues directly from Riviera.

Can anyone pay the fee and join Riviera?

No public open-enrollment process is advertised. Current reporting describes a selective membership process that includes a final interview, so the ability to pay the fee does not by itself secure admission.

Is Riviera’s initiation fee refundable?

Do not assume that it is. Riviera has historically been described as non-equity, and current secondary reporting also describes the fee as nonrefundable. The membership agreement in effect when joining controls the actual resignation and refund terms.

Price note: Riviera keeps current membership pricing private. The figures above combine dated historical reporting with later public estimates and are labeled accordingly. Confirm the current initiation fee, dues, category rules, minimum spending, capital charges, guest costs, and resignation terms directly with the club before paying.

Disclosure: Educational content, not financial advice. Prices reflect public information as of the dates cited and can change. Confirm current rates, fees, taxes, and terms with official sources before purchasing. See our methodology and corrections policy.

by Alec Pow
ThePricer cost research Independent price research used by media, universities and public institutions.

We research provider pricing, market examples, buyer reports, hidden fees and public records.

Methodology · Citations · Newsroom
© 2014 - 2026 - ThePricer Media, LLC, 4 Grove Street, New York, NY, 10014, Phone: (212) 431-2441
We don’t use affiliate links or paid placements. All sources are cited only for verification.
  • Link to X
  • Link to LinkedIn
  • Link to Facebook
  • Link to Instagram
  • Link to Pinterest
  • Link to Youtube
  • Contact Us
  • About Us
  • Press & Mentions
  • Careers
  • Meet the Founder
  • Privacy Policy
  • Editorial Ethics
  • Methodology
  • Corrections
  • Disclosure
  • Terms and Conditions
Scroll to top Scroll to top Scroll to top