ThePricer Media
  • Latest: When Is an Electric Car Actually Cheaper?
  • Cost Guides
  • News & Investigations
  • Daily Price Puzzle (60s)
  • Methodology
  • Press & Mentions
  • Contact
  • Click to open the search input field Click to open the search input field Search
  • Menu Menu
Family & Lifestyle, Sports & Hobbies

How Much Does The Country Club Membership Cost?

Updated on July 23, 2026 | Written by Alec Pow
This article was researched using 9 sources. See our methodology and corrections policy.

The Country Club in Brookline does not publish its initiation fee, annual dues, membership categories, food minimums, or capital assessments. No reliable public source confirms the frequently repeated $500,000 initiation fee. Based on the limited public reporting available and current costs at elite private clubs, a cautious planning estimate is $50,000 to $150,000 for initiation and $12,000 to $25,000 per year in dues, before caddies, dining, guests, locker charges, assessments, and other member spending.

Those figures are editorial estimates, not a leaked fee schedule or a quote from the club. A 2022 Boston Globe report described the initiation charge only as “tens of thousands of dollars” and said it was lower than the fees at certain other Boston-area clubs. The actual 2026 amount could fall outside the planning range, and different membership classes may carry different obligations.

The club’s proper name is The Country Club, often shortened to TCC. It is a private, member-owned social and sporting club at 191 Clyde Street in Brookline, Massachusetts, with 27 golf holes and a membership process that receives almost no public promotion.

Article Highlights

Jump to sections
  • Does The Country Club Membership Cost?
  • Why $500,000 Is Doubtful
  • The Admission Barrier
  • The First-Year Total
  • The Hidden Club Bill
  • What Membership Includes
  • A Historic Golf Club
★ Prefer ThePricer on Google
  • The Country Club does not publish a current membership price.
  • The reported $500,000 (at $30 per hour, earning that amount would take about 8 years of full-time work, before taxes) initiation fee is unsupported.
  • A reasonable planning estimate is $50,000 to $150,000 for initiation.
  • Estimated annual dues may fall near $12,000 to $25,000.
  • A realistic first-year budget could reach $70,000 to $200,000+.
  • Admission requires personal sponsorship and committee approval, not just the ability to pay.
  • Capital assessments, caddies, dining, guests, and club events can raise the annual total.
Brookline Country Club

How Much Does The Country Club Membership Cost?

Country Club Cost Planning Estimate Confidence
Initiation fee $50,000 to $150,000 (about 0.8 to 2.4 years of full-time work at $30 per hour) Low, not publicly confirmed
Annual dues $12,000 to $25,000 Low, based on elite-club market context
Monthly dues equivalent $1,000 to $2,083 Calculated from estimated annual dues
Food and beverage spending $2,000 to $8,000+ Household-use scenario
Caddies and golf gratuities $2,000 to $10,000+ Depends on rounds played
Locker, guests, events, and lessons $1,000 to $8,000+ Optional use-based spending
Possible capital assessment $0 to $25,000+ Not confirmed for TCC
Estimated first year $70,000 to $200,000+ Scenario, not a club quote

The club’s public site provides history, careers, caddie information, and community-program details, but no membership application or price sheet. Its public club website directs existing members to a private login, which fits its long-standing policy of keeping membership matters out of public view.

A private-club database labels its current fee data for TCC as restricted and warns that estimates may not reflect current pricing. Its visible profile shows only masked figures for the initiation fee and dues. That restricted membership profile does not support the precise $500,000 claim that circulates on unsourced cost sites.

Related guides

  • How Much Does an Old Ranch Country Club Membership Cost?
  • How Much Does a Congressional Country Club Membership Cost?
  • How Much Does an Oak Hill Country Club Membership Cost?

Why $500,000 Is Doubtful

The strongest public reporting on the subject comes from a 2022 Boston Globe examination of the club. Members declined to disclose a precise number, but the report described the initiation fee as “tens of thousands of dollars” and said it was lower than the amount charged at clubs in Wellesley and Weston. That description does not fit a half-million-dollar fee.

The fee may have increased since 2022. It could also differ by age, family status, legacy connection, membership category, or whether the club uses certificates, bonds, or equity contributions. None of those possibilities provides evidence for stating $500,000 (about 8 years of full-time work at $30 per hour) as fact.

Kiplinger reported in 2025 that the average private-country-club initiation charge was about $65,000, with monthly dues near $1,000. TCC is far more selective and historically prominent than an average club, so a higher figure is plausible. The market data still does not justify multiplying the average by almost eight without club-specific evidence.

The Admission Barrier

Money is only one part of joining The Country Club. The Boston Globe reported that prospective members were sponsored by two existing members, supplied references from eight people with whom they had social rather than business relationships, and attended a reception with the selection committee. The names of candidates were then circulated among the membership before a committee decision.

That process was described in 2022 and may have changed. The club does not publish current application rules, waitlist length, nomination dates, membership categories, or the number of openings. A prospective member should not assume that a referral, local address, golf résumé, celebrity status, or willingness to pay creates a path to admission.

The club reportedly had about 1,300 members in 2022. When resignations are limited and applications are handled privately, an opening may matter more than the stated initiation fee. The practical joining cost can therefore include years spent developing genuine social connections without any guarantee of nomination.

The First-Year Total

Moderate-use scenario: Assume an initiation fee of $75,000, annual dues of $15,000, dining and drinks of $4,000, caddies and gratuities of $4,000, and another $2,000 for locker charges, guests, lessons, and events. The first-year cost reaches $100,000.

Heavy-use scenario: Begin with a hypothetical $125,000 initiation fee. Add $22,000 in dues, $8,000 in dining, $10,000 in caddie and golf spending, $5,000 for guests and events, and a modeled $15,000 capital assessment. The first year reaches $185,000.

Lower estimate: A $50,000 initiation payment, $12,000 in dues, and $8,000 in member spending produces a first-year budget of $70,000. This is the low end of the planning model, not a price offered by the club.

ThePricer’s middle scenario shows why dues alone are a weak affordability measure. The $15,000 dues equal 15% of the $100,000 first-year budget. Initiation consumes 75%, while actual club use accounts for the remaining 10%. In later years, the dues and use charges replace initiation as the dominant cost.

The Hidden Club Bill

Private-club invoices can extend beyond initiation and dues. Member-owned clubs may issue assessments for clubhouse renovations, course work, irrigation, pools, kitchens, fitness facilities, or debt reduction. Kiplinger notes that assessments at member-owned clubs can reach four or five figures when members fund major capital projects.

Golf creates recurring charges even when greens fees are included. Caddie fees, gratuities, guest charges, tournaments, locker rental, club storage, shoe service, lessons, handicapping, and merchandise can produce several thousand dollars in annual spending. The club’s public 2026 caddie page confirms an active caddie program, but it does not publish member rates.

Dining can create another meaningful expense. The public site does not disclose a food minimum, service charge, gratuity policy, guest limit, or event pricing. A household that uses the clubhouse several times per month may spend much more than a member who visits mainly for golf.

What Membership Includes

The Country Club course and grounds in Brookline, Massachusetts

The Country Club’s official history and facilities page lists golf, tennis, platform tennis, swimming, curling, fitness, skeet shooting, ice skating, and hockey. The main clubhouse is a century-old yellow clapboard building that incorporates a room from the property’s original 1860 farmhouse.

The golf property contains three nine-hole layouts named Clyde, Squirrel, and Primrose. Clyde and Squirrel form the Main Course. The 2022 U.S. Open used a composite Open Course with 15 holes from the Main Course and three from Primrose. This structure gives members more than one playing configuration rather than a single 18-hole layout.

The value of those facilities depends on access. A membership is less valuable to a household that rarely obtains suitable tee times, lives far away, does not use the non-golf amenities, or spends long periods outside Massachusetts. A buyer comparing clubs should ask about spouse and child privileges, guest access, booking rules, course closures, practice facilities, seasonal schedules, and event restrictions.

A Historic Golf Club

The Country Club was founded in 1882 and became one of the five charter clubs that formed the United States Golf Association in 1894. The property began with a horse racetrack. Members laid out six golf holes in 1893, and Willie Campbell expanded the course to nine holes and then 18 by 1899.

The club has hosted 17 USGA championships, including four U.S. Opens. Francis Ouimet’s 1913 victory over Harry Vardon and Ted Ray helped accelerate the growth of golf in the United States. Julius Boros won there in 1963, Curtis Strange in 1988, and Matt Fitzpatrick in 2022.

The 1999 Ryder Cup also took place at TCC. The future schedule remains substantial. The USGA has confirmed the next four championships as the 2030 U.S. Girls’ Junior, 2034 U.S. Amateur, 2038 U.S. Open, and 2045 U.S. Women’s Open.

Championships Affect Access

Hosting a major championship brings preparation, construction, security, volunteer operations, practice rounds, tournament play, and restoration work. Portions of the property may close or operate under altered schedules. Members receive the prestige of belonging to a championship venue, but major-event years can reduce ordinary access.

The 2038 U.S. Open will mark 125 years since Ouimet’s 1913 victory. The 2045 U.S. Women’s Open will be the first time that championship is played at TCC. These events strengthen the club’s historical position and may support future capital spending, but they do not reveal anything about current dues or initiation pricing.

The club also runs the Brookline Youth Fund, established in connection with the 1999 Ryder Cup. Its current community fund page says more than $2.5 million has been raised and more than $1.3 million awarded to local organizations.

Comparing Elite Clubs

A direct fee comparison is difficult when one club publishes its schedule and another does not. Compare ownership structure, initiation refundability, voting rights, family access, waitlist rules, course quality, tee-time access, assessments, food minimums, and the number of days the household can use the property.

Current Interlachen Country Club membership costs illustrate how a famous championship club can structure initiation, dues, and waiting rules differently. The fee alone does not establish whether the experience resembles TCC.

A regional or suburban club may have a lower barrier and more available tee times. Published Meadowbrook Country Club membership costs show why location, club ownership, course demand, and family amenities need to be compared along with initiation.

Corporate-operated clubs have another financial model. Current Brookhaven Country Club membership costs can include accessible categories and published offers, while a private member-owned institution can depend on nomination and committee approval.

When Membership Fits

The cost may make sense if:

  • Your household will use golf and several other facilities frequently.
  • You already have genuine social connections within the club.
  • A large initiation payment will not weaken retirement or emergency savings.
  • You can absorb assessments and annual increases without financing.
  • The club’s traditions, location, and community matter as much as golf.

It may not make sense if:

  • You are interested only in playing the championship course occasionally.
  • The estimated cost depends on debt or selling investments at a poor time.
  • You need a predictable annual bill with no assessment exposure.
  • Your household will not use the dining, racquet, swimming, or winter facilities.
  • You do not have sponsors or a realistic path through the private admissions process.

What We Verified

  • Checked: The club’s current public site does not publish membership fees or an open application.
  • Confirmed: The club was founded in 1882 and was one of five charter members that founded the USGA in 1894.
  • Cross-referenced: The strongest public membership report describes the initiation fee as tens of thousands of dollars, not $500,000.
  • Verified: The property has three nine-hole courses and has hosted 17 USGA championships.
  • Checked: The USGA has announced four future championships at TCC from 2030 through 2045.

Answers to Common Questions

How much does it cost to join The Country Club?

The club does not disclose its fees. A cautious planning estimate is $50,000 to $150,000 for initiation and $12,000 to $25,000 in annual dues, but neither range is confirmed by TCC.

Is the initiation fee really $500,000?

No reliable public source confirms that figure. Public reporting from 2022 described the fee only as tens of thousands of dollars.

Can anyone apply for membership?

The club does not advertise open enrollment. Public reporting describes a sponsor-based nomination and committee review process.

How many golf holes does The Country Club have?

It has 27 holes divided into the Clyde, Squirrel, and Primrose nines.

Is The Country Club the same as Brookline Golf Course?

No. The Country Club is a private club on Clyde Street. Robert T. Lynch Municipal Golf Course at Putterham is Brookline’s public golf facility.

Disclosure: Educational content, not financial advice. Prices reflect public information as of the dates cited and can change. Confirm current rates, fees, taxes, and terms with official sources before purchasing. See our methodology and corrections policy.

by Alec Pow
ThePricer cost research Independent price research used by media, universities and public institutions.

We research provider pricing, market examples, buyer reports, hidden fees and public records.

Methodology · Citations · Newsroom
© 2014 - 2026 - ThePricer Media, LLC, 4 Grove Street, New York, NY, 10014, Phone: (212) 431-2441
We don’t use affiliate links or paid placements. All sources are cited only for verification.
  • Link to X
  • Link to LinkedIn
  • Link to Facebook
  • Link to Instagram
  • Link to Pinterest
  • Link to Youtube
  • Contact Us
  • About Us
  • Press & Mentions
  • Careers
  • Meet the Founder
  • Privacy Policy
  • Editorial Ethics
  • Methodology
  • Corrections
  • Disclosure
  • Terms and Conditions
Scroll to top Scroll to top Scroll to top